What are “The Listings”?

by Lisa on July 20, 2011

The “Listings” are federal regulations which are found at 20 C.F.R. Part 404, which basically describes the severity of impairments.  The Social Security Administration relies upon the Listings to decide whether or not a claimant’s impairment has met or is equal to that listing.  If the impairment is found to meet or equal the listing, then it can be concluded that the impairment is severe enough to prevent a claimant from working.  Therefore, a claimant’s impairment(s) must meet or equal the severity level as described in the listings in order for the Social Security Administration to conclude the he/she cannot perform any substantial work.  This process is Step 3 of the 5-step sequential analysis that is used by the Social Security Administration when determining a claim.

The Adult and Children’s Listings can be found through this link on the official Social Security Administration website:


Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: