What does the filing of “reconsideration” mean?

by Lisa on May 23, 2011

Reconsideration is the second appeal level on a Social Security disability claim and occurs after the initial level of a disability claim is denied.  By filing a reconsideration (appeal), a claimant is simply asking that Social Security review the claim.  The claim will be sent to a new adjudicator at the reconsideration level.  Unfortunately, approximately 70-80% of the time, the reconsideration decision is the same as the initial decision.  The best way to avoid this is to retain an experienced professional disability representative to assist with the claim.  There are several states that do not have a “reconsideration” level on a claim. These states are Alaska, Alabama, Colorado, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, New York, Pennsylvania and North and West Los Angeles, California. In these states, when a claim is denied at the initial level, the next appeal level is the hearing level.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: